High School Golfer Misses Historic Fourth State Title Due To Scorecard Error

by | May 17, 2012 at 3:38 PM | Golf

Churchill High School senior golfer Laura Inglis not only had the 5A Oregon state golf championship won with her tournament leading final round, but was about to become the first golfer in Oregon history to win that state title four years in a row. Instead she accidentally signed a scorecard showing her winning score of 69 as a 68 and, in line with USGA rules, she was disqualified.

“Inglis’ signed card showed that she made a par on the 18th hole, when she actually made a bogey, her lone bogey of the round. She was in the scoring area when someone mentioned that her score had been posted as a 68.

Inglis made a beeline inside, got her scorecard and reported the mistake. OSAA officials, following the USGA rules the tournament was played under, disqualified her.”

Inglis’ card was kept by her playing partner who missed her lone bogey of the day when making notation. Despite not having kept her own card, by USGA rules any golfer is responsible for checking the score before signing the card and handing it in.

While this happens semi-regularly on the PGA Tour it’s not something you hear about very often in high school sports. That it happened in the state championship and with history on the line is particularly heartbreaking.

Inglis will continue her playing career next year on the University of Oregon women’s golf team but her chance to make history in high school is sadly gone.

Via OregonLive

CosbySweaters

The opinions expressed are solely those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the views of Comcast.